

# A History

From the Texas Society of Fund Raisers (1968)

To

The Southwest Society of Fund Raisers (1794)

To

The National Society of Fund Raisers- Dallas Chapter (1979)

To

The National Society of Fund Raising Executives – Dallas Chapter (1980)

To

Association of Fundraising Professionals – Greater Dallas Chapter

# A look back...

"The National Society of Fund Raising Executives was officially chartered by the State of New York on June 21, 1960, but its actual beginnings were in the imagination and the vision of three fund raisers in New York City. During the preceding winter, Benjamin Sklar of Brandeis University, William R. Simms of the National Urban League, and Harry Rosen of the Federation of Jewish Philanthropies had been discussing the need for a national organization of fund raisers. An association of fund-raising firms had been in existence for twenty-five years (the American Association of Fund Raising Counsel, or AAFRC), and there was also an association of fund raisers in New York City (The Association of Fund Raising Directors, or AFRD), but no national organization existed to represent the profession."

#### From History, National Society of Fund Raising Professionals 1960-1985

By the 1968, that same vision was shared by fund raising leaders in Texas – J. O. Newberry and Bob Connor in Dallas...Byron Welch and Dick Dini in Houston...William (Bill) McDanel in Fort Worth - leading to the establishment of the Texas Society of Fund Raisers, and subsequently the Southwest Society of Fund Raisers in 1974.

In 1979, as a result of changes in the bylaws of the national organization, the Dallas Chapter of the National Society of Fund Raising Executives was established with Joyce Boyd as first president. The Chapter was chartered in September 1980; Ms. Boyd remained president at the time.

In the first decade, membership consisted of Dallas fund raising professionals meeting on a catch-as-catch can basis: in the basement of the famed Lucas B&B; at a Denny's; at the Belo Mansion; at Communities Foundation of Texas (the old Live Oak Street location) and hearing from such diverse speakers as Molly Ivins, Texas columnist and author; Ray Nasher, in his days as a noted urbanist; former City Attorney Alex Bickley; and a variety of Dallas philanthropists and business and civic leaders.

#### Among the founding members were:

Gordon M. Caswell Joyce Boyd Mary M. Brinegar Joyce Boyd Robert C. Connor John A. Davis Joe J. Guise Warren Gould Milton Key James L. Richardson, Jr. John W. Roppolo **Dudley Rouse** Fred Sherman Charles C. Sprague Rebecca Utley Lynn Vogt

Membership reached 100 by 1988; 200 by 1994; 300 by 2000; and, 400 by 2006. AFP Greater Dallas Chapter serves Dallas, Ellis, Rockwall, Collin, Grayson, and Denton Counties, although individual members from outside those counties often choose us as the chapter record for their membership.

By 1981, the Chapter was recognizing fundraising leadership at an annual year-end event, with J. J. Guise the first recipient. Joe was recognized at a dinner event of about 20 people.

Today, National Philanthropy Day has been a Dallas event for twenty-five years with an historic roster of individuals, civic and philanthropic leadership, corporations, foundations and professionals receiving awards in front of an annual gathering of approximately 600 people.

By 1985, the demand for professional programming and extended networking in the North Texas area lead to the establishment of the annual Dallas/Fort Worth Conference.

The typical calendar for the AFP-Greater Dallas Chapter includes:

- Monthly programs and luncheon meetings from January May, August, September, and October.
- D/FW Conference June
- National Philanthropy Day November
- Annual Holiday Event December

## 1980 - 1989 Highlights:

Dec 1981 First "annual" (holiday) meeting

Jan 1984 Barbara James, first African-American member

Nov 1985 First National Philanthropy Day

## 1990-1999 Highlights:

## 2000 - 2009 Highlights

Nov 2007 Madeleine Crouch and Co., Inc. contracted with for

administrative support.

## Presidents:

1980 1981 1982 1983 1984 1985 1986 1987	Joyce Boyd
1989	
1990 1991 1992 1993 1994 1995 1996 1997 1998	Kay Marsh Green, CFRE Ragan Rogers, CFRE Lynn McEntire Vogt, CFRE Carole V. Rylander, CFRE J. Scott Buchanan, CFRE Robert Vargas, CFRE Deborah Montonen, CFRE Don Garrett, CFRE
2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010	Don Garrett, CFRE Christie Baskett, CFRE Milton Key, CFRE Milton Key, CFRE Pagett D. Holley, CFRE Pagett D. Gosslee, CFRE Cheryl Reynolds Mary Brumbach, PhD, CFRE Larry Wickham, CFRE Luanne Samuel, CFRE James N. Falk, CFRE